Kendrick School owes its foundation to charitable bequests given by John Kendrick, a wealthy clothier and native of Reading, who died in 1624, and his family descendent Mary Kendrick.
The school opened its doors in 1877 to forty pupils between seven and sixteen years of age under the headship of Mrs Smith. Originally the school was located in a seventeenth century house in Watlington Street in Reading and the subjects taught included Vocal Music, Household Management, Laws of Health and Needlework.
Watlington House, although charming with its wainscoted and paneled walls, only had space for six classrooms; so as the school grew in size and reputation, the decision was taken to move to modern purpose-built premises on London Road in 1927.
Here it has continued to flourish and grow in both size and status. Today under Ms Kattirtzi’s Headship and the ethos “lead, inspire and make a difference”, it offers its current seven hundred and twenty students a well-rounded education and a standard of teaching that has made Kendrick School one of the best state schools in the country.